Pennsylvania | Traffic Law
Legal Question
Leaving the Scene of an accident
What can happen to a person who left the scene of an accident where there are no injuries? What if the person had a DUI 3 years ago? Note; he was not under the influence of alcohol at the time of the accident.
Thank you!
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David L. Bargeron |
Re: Leaving the Scene of an accident A person who does this is possibly, in violation of 75 Pa. C.S. §3743 if the accident involved another vehicle that was "attended.” (This usually means someone is in the vehicle or close by). The penalty:"(b) Penalty. --Any person violating this section commits a misdemeanor of the third degree, punishable by a fine of $2,500 or imprisonment for not more than one year, or both."
Further, your license to operate motor vehicles in this Commonwealth will be suspended for six months.
If the accident involved an "unattended" vehicle then you may have violated 75 Pa. C.S. §3745. The penalty:"(b) Penalty. --A violation of this section is a summary offense, punishable by a fine of $300 or imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or both." Plus 4 points!
Further, is your license is suspended DUI related you may be guilty of a summary offense and shall be sentenced to pay a fine of $1,000 and to undergo imprisonment for a period of not less than 90 days.
There might still be hope - you have options contact an attorney to discuss this further. I offer free consultations.
|
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Rosner Law Firm P.A.
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
SAUL H SEGAN ATTY AT LAW
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 515
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Search Questions and Answers


