Pennsylvania | Traffic Law
Legal Question
parking violation vs. driving violation
If a police officer observes an expired inspection sticker on a vehicle, can he wait until the owner gets in and drives off to then perform a traffic stop?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jay Hochberg |
Re: parking violation vs. driving violation Unfortunately, the answer is yes. The U.S. Supreme Court has even ruled that pretext stops are permissible. For example, it is unlawful to pull someone over because of the color of his skin, but an officer who admits to this improper motivation is still allowed to make a traffic stop, so long as there is in fact an additional, lawful reason to do so - like an expired inspection sticker.
Terrible law. We need to stop electing Republican presidents if we ever hope to have our constitutional rights restored. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Rosner Law Firm P.A.
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
SAUL H SEGAN ATTY AT LAW
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 515
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Search Questions and Answers


