Pennsylvania  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
2/15/06, 9:46 pm

Legal Question


misrepresentation of executor

my godmother recently passed away leaving me her sole beneficialry and executrix, however, she had two annuities which were to be equally shared by my 3 daughters. My husban's secretary, unbeknownst to me, called the two insurance companies and told them she was the lawyer for my aunt's estate and to send the checks to my husband's office. I had given him a copy of my probate short form and a copy of her death certificate, but was unaware of what he needed it for. At that time only one annuity was clearly in the girls name and the three checks for each girl was sent to the office. He had the girls sign their checks and he proceeded to borrow the money from them. I was unaware of this till a later date. This is so unfair to our daughters who were coerced into loaning him this money, which if they ever see it, will be a miracle. Do I have grounds for a civil suit? And which party or parties can I direct this? Fortunately, I negotiated the second annuity for the girls and all is well with that because I was aware of his deceitful behavior before more damage was done. Thank you, Carole


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search