Legal Question in Immigration Law in Rhode Island

I am currently on my last month of OPT. My wife (a US citizen) and I just mailed in our application for my green card. My question is, am I allowed to continue working with my current job (on my OPT) or do I have to quit while waiting for the new EAD that comes with the green card to process? Thanks!

Asked on 6/30/12, 12:00 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Ajay Arora Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Hi,

When your OPT expires, you must discontinue your employment until issued EAD based on spousal sponsorship: www.h1b1.com/Uscitizen.htm

Read more
6/30/12, 1:05 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in Rhode Island

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now