Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in South Carolina

Withholding mail

My mother died on May 143, The post office held her mail saying they needed a power of attorney to collect it. Doesn't a power of attorney act while the person is living and has not power after death?

Can the postal service withheld mail in this manner?

Asked on 6/05/09, 5:01 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

William Cutchin Cutchin Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Withholding mail

You are correct. The Personal Representative will have the power to collect the mail.

Read more
Answered on 6/08/09, 9:11 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in South Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now