Tennessee | Credit and Debt Law
4/21/03, 3:33 pm
Legal Question
Creditors
Can a collection agency make you sale your home in order to pay off a credit card debt?
Creditors
Can a collection agency make you sale your home in order to pay off a credit card debt?
|
Read More Answered By: Marshall Snyder |
Re: Creditors Under Tennessee law, you have a $4,500.00 exemption in your home or a $7,500.00 exemption if you are married. The collection company is not going to suit you but they will eventually turn over the account to a lawyer who will file suit. A judgment against you would place your home in jeopardy if the judgment exceeds the exemption limits noted above. A Chapter 13 bankruptcy would allow you to pay off your credit card debts and keep your home. |
|
Read More Answered By: Ms. Tran Lankford |
No, But It Depends In general, a creditor would need some legal methods to be able to obligate you to sale your home to pay a debt. A creditor cannot just tell you, nor can he/she just make you sell your home if there is no power to do so legally. If the collection agency is telling you that you have to, or that it can sell your home to pay for the credit card debt, without anything more to show, then it is violating the laws. You DID NOT provide enough information for me to assess your situation. If you are interested, you need to contact an attorney to assess your case. |
Franklin, TN
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-30
Little Rock, AR
Questions Answered: 241
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-05
Madison, TN
Questions Answered: 151
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-12-29
Nashville, TN
Questions Answered: 136
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-21
Memphis, TN
Questions Answered: 69
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-12
Chattanooga, TN
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-01
Franklin, TN
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-22
Hernando, MS
Questions Answered: 32
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-09-12
Ambler, PA
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-28
Knoxville, TN
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-01
► Assessing Finance Charges We have sold product to a commercial company in the state...
► Foreclosure I have attempted to work with my mortgage company for several months and...
► Car Title Recieved Early I recieved my car title before I payed it off. Does this...
► Small Claims Jurisdiction and Enforceability My 80 year-old father recently moved...
► Garnishment notification A collection agency is trying to collect from me for a car...
► I did not sign the contract My husband attended truck driver school a couple yrs....
► Contract I entered into auto loan contract in 2000, intended for adult child. Lender...
More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Tennessee| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press