Legal Question in Business Law in Texas

I am starting my own bakery business and recently leased a store front. When looking over the application for my business license through the city I noticed they are conducting a back ground check and ask about any felonies. I am currently on probation for 1 more month for a felony forgery of financial document. It was a horrible judgement lapse on my part during a very rough time and not something I would ever do again. That being said I am wondering 2 things: 1- will this keep me from getting my business license? 2- with this being a very small town and my shop being directly next door to the police station (conducting the background check) I am worried about small town talk ruining my business before I even start. So could I simply put just the business license in my husbands name? I am told this is more of a tax from the city rather than something to do with my business taxes. My business is a small bakery that I am looking at setting up under a sole proprietorship business as I will be the only actual employee other than help from my husband as needed.

Asked on 7/11/13, 2:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Adam Kielich The Kielich Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If you are the business owner then there may be some fraud concerns about you trying to put the license in your husband's name.

Read more
Answered on 7/13/13, 12:36 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

89033 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now