Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Texas

Was my fourth Amendment right violated ?

I was pulled over by the city police and was asked to exit my car for questioning. while doing so i locked my car and started to shut the door. The officer stop me in that action and unlocked my car . I reacted by locking my door again . In total we did this three times before he threaten me with a charge and possible jail.

so the car stayed unlocked.

The officer question me about a burglery of a home that was close to where i had worked a week eariler. He said the reason for stoping me was cutting through privite property to aviod a traffic light . I had just left the store that was on the same conner with the traffic light. I choose to leave shortest route , I would haved missed the light if i'd left from the front of the store anyways.

if i locked the doors on my car during traffic stop, does the cop have the right to stop me ?

PLS Help,

Thank You

Brandon Bridgeport, T.x.

Asked on 12/08/10, 8:58 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Gary Thomas Gary Thomas Law Office, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The officer had a right to stop you if your driving violated the law or raised enough suspicion for him to think you had committed a crime or were committing a crime.

Read more
1/11/11, 12:46 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Civil Rights Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now