Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Texas

I have had my car for a year and only made one payment. I have been trying to get someone to take over the payments and it hasn't happen yet. The lender knows someone else has my car and they are saying that I'm hiding it illegally and that is not true. They said that they will file a replevin with the Harris County Sheriff’s Department if I don't tell them where the car is. I don't want to do that because I am going to take it to Texas Direct to try and sell the car for what I can get it for and then be responsible for the balance. Can they file a replevin against me? Thank you

GJ

Asked on 8/13/13, 12:33 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cynthia Henley Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes. You have no right to do what you are doing. You ARE hiding the car if it is not in your possession where they can find it. They have the right to repo it.

Read more
8/15/13, 4:55 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now