Legal Question in Criminal Law in Texas

Hi, my daughter is in trouble, and she signed to have a Trial by Judge, not a Jury I think it is also called a Bench Trial, what exactly is that? her Counsel did not advice her or explain to her what that meant, or what to expect.Thank You.

Asked on 10/24/13, 12:50 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cynthia Henley Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

A bench trial aka trial by judge means there will be no jury; the judge will decide not only whether there is sufficient evidence to find her guilty but also the punishment.

Read more
Answered on 10/24/13, 1:19 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Texas


Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88433 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Scott RiddleLaw Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLCAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now