Legal Question in Criminal Law in Texas

Shoplifting Punishment

A 21 yr old in Austin - inadvertantly walked out of a store with $16.00 ear-rings. Never in trouble, student. She was given a summons (ticket?)What is punishment if she pleads guilty, what about nolo-contendere, what are other consequences or options? It was an accident.

Asked on 7/31/04, 6:17 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Nile Copeland Cheng Copeland PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Shoplifting Punishment

If you cannot get it dismissed you want to look into deferred adjudication.

When did it happen? When do you have to go to court?

Read more
Answered on 7/31/04, 10:11 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now