Texas | Elder Law
Legal Question
What is the process for acquiring guardianship of a parent and what helps are there when you are on a limited income to do so.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Nicholas Dupre |
Guardianship is a timely and costly process. One must file an application with the county court or statutory probate court in the county where the individual resides. An attorney ad-litem and possibly a guardian ad-litem will be appointed. A doctor's letter, certifying that the person is incapacitated is also required. That, unfortunately, is just the beginning and there aren't really many statutory aids to make the guardianship process less costly.
You might consider alternatives to guardianship, i.e. durable power of attorney etc. It's difficult to advise you without knowing more details, but guardianship typically is not the first choice when dealing with an incapacitated person. It is certainly necessary in some instances, but be sure that a guardianship is what you need. If you have any questions, I would be happy to answer them. |
Top Attorneys in TX
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law office of Basil Hoyl
Bedford, TX
Questions Answered: 422
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-06
Cheng Copeland PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 419
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-24
Burdette & Rice PLLC
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 130
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-18
Law Office of Laura D. Heard
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 99
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-16
Michael A. Dover, PC
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-09-10
Nemec Law Offices
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 63
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-08
Paul C. Velte IV, Attorney at Law
San Marcos, TX
Questions Answered: 62
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-01-06
Jones Morris Klevenhagen LLP
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Search Questions and Answers


