Texas  |  Health Care Law

question bubble
8/21/09, 1:34 am

Legal Question


There is a lot of discussion in the news related to excessive law suits. Humana, a healthcare provide, calls this defensive medicine and claim doctors have to pay enormous malpractice insurance premiums. One idea to address this was why not allow consumers to trade their right to sue or limit their rights to sue in exchange for a lower cost of receiving the service? For example if I wanted to have the right to sue for malpractice after my heart surgery it cost $50,000, but if I release that right, it would cost $40,000 for the heart surgery. However, there was some concerns if this is legal or possible under our legal system. I wanted to see if this kind of trading with regard to your legal recourse was possible. I know we sign documents all the time that says we will not sue, but I have heard these documents are meaningless. Is it possible to make a contract that would be enforceable? Any insight you can provide would be greatly appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search