Texas | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
I have lived in my apartment building since March 2004. I signed my lease paying $545. I moved to another apartment within the same complex January 2006. The rent was $575. Before hurricane Ike my rent was increased to $615. There was extensive damage to the complex, but little in my unit. Within a couple months after Ike, I received a notice that rent was being increased and my unit would be $725. The owner explained it was do to the tax increase on the property. My new next-door neighbor moved in barely two months and pays $675 for an identical unit. There are special introductory rates offered in this complex. Is it legal for the apartment owner to do this?


