how long can a landlord keep the deposit after you move out
1 Answer from Attorneys
Deposit must be returned in 30 days after moveout if you complied with the Lease. Any deductions have to be itemized. If you notify the landlord and he still does not return the deposit then youo can collect a fine amount and your deposit back, plus your Attorneys fees from him.
I've done dozens of these types of matters. If you are around Houston-Galveston-Conroe, I can send a Demand Letter out for $75, then if he does not comply, go to JP Court and file suit. Obviously, if you still owe rent, that is not a good idea !!
The cost of Court is about $110 and I likely can do the legal work on contingency either a percentage of what is recovered from the lawsuit or settlement or what the Court awards in legal fees. Let me know if you want to do a no-fee, no commitment, consultation by phone or in person be sending you full name, information and lease details to this email: firstname.lastname@example.org. That gives you a decent option for little hassle and expense.
Related Questions & Answers
I filed a lawsuit in Harris county Houston TX against former tenant who left about... Asked 11/19/12, 12:11 pm in United States Texas Landlord & Tenants
I am being evicted by my father, I have been living here for right at 5 years and am... Asked 11/15/12, 4:39 pm in United States Texas Landlord & Tenants
Hello Im having an issue with a lanlord. I leased a property from a company in... Asked 11/10/12, 12:19 pm in United States Texas Landlord & Tenants
Can a landlord serve you with a 3 day eviction notice Asked 11/09/12, 6:58 pm in United States Texas Landlord & Tenants
My commercial tenant committed suicide in the middle of his lease term. Now his... Asked 11/08/12, 11:47 am in United States Texas Landlord & Tenants