Texas | Military Law
Legal Question
Military and Child Support
I'm in the military and while I was on deployment my daughter was born. The mother did not put me on the birthcertificate or give my daughter my last name. Still since my daughter is been born I've sent her about 1,200 dollars monthly. I asked the mother for the birthcertificate so my daughter can have the benifits of being a dependent but she refused to. My commanding officer advised that I should send her the amount according to my pay grade which is 200 dollars a month. The mother got mad and refused to let me see her. So I stopped sending her money and I gave up my rights as the father. Will I be held accountable for not showing up to a court date she makes if I'm currently in Japan? Will I still have to pay child support if I gave up my rights and there is nothing stating she is my daughter unless a DNA test is taken?


