You should contact a personal injury attorney ASAP.
Tell your cousin not to sign any insurance company forms or agree to give a recorded statement to the insurance company or turn over medical records without speaking to a personal injury attorney.
The insurance company does not care about your cousin or his friend's death. Their goal is to frustrate your cousin and hope he goes away or accepts an unfair low money offer.
Assuming the car was the cause of the accident, you cousin could cover compensation for lost wages, medical bills, future medical care, impairment, disfigurement, pain, and mental anguish.
Your cousin's passenger may have a wrongful death claim. His parents, children, and spouse may be permitted to assert a claim along with his estate.
For free Texas personal injury information, please visit http://www.kiplawfirm.com.
If we can be of service and answer any questions during a free consultation, please call (214) 800-3454 or submit a confidential e-mail to your website.
Please pass on my condolences to your cousin and his friend's family.
Respectfully,