Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Texas

My wife and I were looking to buy a piece of property. The difficulty is we cannot get to the property without traveling on about a 200 yard long easement road and cannot get financing because the easement road is too narrow according to the banks. They say that emergency vehicles would have difficulty traversing the road, and that county law says that easement roads must be 40 foot wide, which this is not, but is the only way onto the property. I don't think vehicles would have difficulty since large tractors use it to get into the fields often. Is there any way that I can get a county easement deeded to me, and would it take off that easement label and make it my driveway?

Asked on 1/01/13, 8:06 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joseph A. McDermott, III Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Have you approached the landowner who owns the property the access easement passes over to see if he'll sell you a strip to widen the easement?

Read more
Answered on 1/01/13, 11:37 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now