Legal Question in Tax Law in Texas

I will be paying half my child’s college tuition, but her father (who I am divorced from) claims her on his taxes. Can I GIFT my child my half of her tuition and claim this on my taxes for a write off?

Asked on 6/14/13, 9:17 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Arthur Geffen Arthur H. Geffen, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Gifts, except to charities that have a recognition of exemption, are not deductible from your income for Federal Income Tax Purposes. So the answer is NO!

Read more
Answered on 6/14/13, 10:51 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in Texas


Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Tax and Taxation Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now