Utah | Appeals and Writs
Legal Question
Do I have an option
I did not know what area of law this was but it's a general question. I was pulled over passing through utah on my way back from spring break and the officer found a small amount of marijuana. I was ticketed with possession of a controlled substance. I asked him if I would have to appear in court since it would be difficult for me being out of state. He said a court appearance would not be needed. He then had me sign a copy of the ticket and another document which he said was for the courts. He said call in before 14 days to pay it and let me go. I called 6 days later to pay it and they said I would have to appear in court. Do I really have to go back to Utah? Do i have any other options?


