Virginia  |  Business Law

question bubble
10/11/05, 11:11 pm

Legal Question


Non-compete

I have been approached by a company in a similar industry to the one I work in now. The company I work for now does not have a competing product to the new company that I have been approached by, but the new company wants me to work in the same territory that I work in now. I signed a non-compete not to work with a competing company and not work with the same customers. In my new job I would only have 20% crossover of customers. Because my job is so specific I am having a hard time finding work outside the area because of my strong contacts in the area from this job and my previous one. Companies see value in the relationships I've established here, not elsewhere. I've spent 3.5 years building these relationships (3 with my first employer and .5 with my present employer). Should I be worried about the non-compete I signed if I land this new job.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search