Legal Question in Criminal Law in Virginia

I live in the state of Va. I am 20 years old and attend college. I have never been in trouble before. I have a felony charge for grand larceny embezzlement and 1 felony charge for credit card fraud and 1 misdeameanor charge for credit card fraud. I went for preliminary hearing and was sentenced to 6 months jail with a $2500 secured bond. The fraud was an honest mistake not intentional. My lawyer appealed the case and I got out on bail. I have to go to circuit court and was wondering if I have any chance of not getting jail time and would bringing in character witnesses help me?

Asked on 6/26/10, 10:54 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Saiki Law Office of David M. Saiki
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Character witnesses cannot be used at trial, with a few exceptions in assault and battery cases.

Character witnesses can and should be used at sentencing, however.

Read more
6/27/10, 3:17 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now