Legal Question in Elder Law in Virginia

My mother had a stroke and his not able to talk and make her own decisions. I am very close to her and i am the oldest, but my brother who is yonger than me by 2 years, and my mom's boyfriend, keep making decisons that are not right for my mother because they say they have as much right as I do to make any decision on behalf of my mother. Sine I am the oldest is there any law that will allow me to be the decison maker?

Asked on 3/25/11, 8:42 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No, there is no such law; you may need to petition the local

circuit court to appoint you as the sole conservator of your mother's

financial affairs.

Read more
Answered on 4/16/11, 9:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now