Legal Question in Family Law in Virginia

My soon to be Ex-wife and I got married in Finland and I filed for divorce there. While we were married we lived in Sweden and for over a year I was unemployed. During that time she was the breadwinner. She paid for food necessities, etc. Now for the better part of a year since we separated she claims that I am obligated to pay her back for basically "supporting" the both of us during our marriage. She wrote up an invoice for the "debts owed" but I ever signed anything legally stating that I would pay back this amount that she has come up with addition to that upon signing the divorce papers we also signed a postnuptial agreement which she wrote up and in it do not state the so called "debt" to be paid. She hasn't provided any statements or receipts claiming that the money spent was solely for myself. I have nothing of value that I own that was purchased by her so most of this is hearsay. The only things I have in debt to her is the 1st fee for filing for the divorce which she paid because we had to file in finland and I wanted it, and a ticket that I got while living in sweden. These are things solely tied to me so I feel they are the only things I feel need to be responsible to pay her back for which should total to about 300 dollars. She is now claiming to go to small claims in order to have me back her back this money or at least monthly but I was told unless she can provide some kind of evidence that the amount she claims that I owe was used solely for my benefit that I don't owe her a dime or things that we both used like trips we both went on, food, living expenses and necessities.

Asked on 6/30/13, 11:55 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Duplicate--already answered.

Read more
Answered on 6/30/13, 5:19 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now