Virginia | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Many years ago my grandmother purchased burial plots for her husband, their children, and each child's spouse. My grandparents have passed on and so has a daughter and her 1st husband. About 3 weeks ago this daughters 2nd husband (who previously purchased a plot elsewhere) passed away and was buried in the family plot. No one contacted the family to see if this was okay. Now the family is short 1 burial plot actually 2 because now there isn't any room for a child and spouse to buried side by side. We would like to contact the cemetary and request that we be given 2 replacement plots as close as possible to the family plot. We also feel that the 2nd husbands estate should be responsible for paying for the 2 plots. Is this reasonable? How should we handle this matter?


