Virginia | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Information an Insurance company can asked for to settle a claim
On 14 August 2001 I was rear-ended in Virginia on my way home from work in Maryland. I was med-evaced to a nearby hospital for observation due to lower back (lumbar) and neck (cervical) pain due to the collision. I was contacted by the insurance company of the individual that caused the rear-end collision in hopes that I would settle. I informed the adjusters who contacted me that I was being treated for injuries sustained during the accident. I have not seen my PCP since I was released to return to work, which was 30 August (of 2001). I continue to have lower back pain when standing for long periods and there is a sharp pain in my neck. One of the insurance adjusters claims that it is his experience that since there was minor damage to my vehicle (approx. $850), there should be limited injuries to me.
My questions are: (1)what information and to what detail is the insurer entitled to receive from my employer and PCP regarding my injuries?
And (2) does the adjuster have any authority to make medical decisions/conclusions pertaining to the extent of an injury(ies) sustained by a person in a collision?
I would greatly appreciate an answer to these questions.


