Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Virginia

where to file a warrant in debt

I have a sublease in which the subtenant has not paid me for last month, nor has the subtenant paid the actual landlord for this month. I need to file a Warrant in Debt, but I moved to a different county than where the premises are located. Can I file the paperwork at the General District Court in this county or do I need to travel the 300 miles to file in the county where the premises are located?

Asked on 10/08/07, 10:22 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

James McKinnon McKinnon & Associates, PLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: where to file a warrant in debt

File it where the property is located. Get the paperwork from the Court's website and file by mail.

Read more
10/09/07, 11:55 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now