Virginia | Legal Malpractice
Legal Question
corum nobis
Is there a statue of limitation for filing a corum nobis. My conviction was 3 years ago.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael E. Hendrickson |
Re: corum nobis The writ of coram vobis has now been largely replaced by the Virginia legislature in the statute found in Va. Code Sec. 8.01-677, and is limited to correcting clerical and certain factual errors in a case which were not known at the time judgment was entered.
It is not intended to replace the remedy of habeus corpus nor as a remedy for a defedant to have his conviction reviewed, generally, by the trial court long after a verdict has been entered. (And, therefore, is unlikely to have any applicability to your particular case.)
See caselaw--Gary Earl Neighbors v. Commonwealth of Virginia (2007) at 650 S.E. 2d 514 and Va. Code Sec. 8.01-677. |
Top Attorneys in VA
Attorney & Counsellor at Law
Alexandria,
Questions Answered: 20729
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Bromberg, Rosenthal, LLP
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-09
Bose Law Firm, PLLC - Former Police, Prosecutors & Investigators
Springfield, VA
Questions Answered: 64
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-07-13
Corish, Hill & Associates, PLLC
Herndon, VA
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-31
The Law Firm of Evan H. Farr, P.C.
Fairfax, VA
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 1998-12-08
Hamilton and Hamilton LLP
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-08-15
Search Questions and Answers


