Virginia | Military Law
Legal Question
depression in the army
Will i be discharged from the army if i get diagnosed with depression?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Neal Puckett |
Re: depression in the army Not necessarily. Many people are diagnosed with depression and are treated through counseling, medication, or therapeutic methods. The Army should not even know that you are undergoing treatment because those records are protected by the privacy act and various health records privacy protection laws. The Army may be notified, however, if the depression poses a health risk to the service person or others. Depression or other mental health maladies may result in a release from the Army if the condition is untreatable and affects the service person’s abilities to effectively discharge his or her duties or begins to have a negative impact on the mission of the unit. |
Top Attorneys in VA
The Law Firm of Puckett and Faraj, PC
Alexandria, VA
Questions Answered: 249
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-21
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Attorney at Military Law
Virginia Beach, VA
Questions Answered: 153
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Sawyer & Azarcon, P.C.
Fairfax, VA
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-17
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Philip Simmons
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 16
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-10
Goodall & Pelt P.C.
Stafford, VA
Questions Answered: 7
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-01-04
Jon Katz, P.C.
Silver Spring, MD
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-08-29
Kirkpatrick & Davidson
Occoquan, VA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-11-14
Goldizen & Associates
Virginia Beach, VA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-11-29
Search Questions and Answers


