Virginia | Military Law
Legal Question
My friend's son-in-law happily joined the Army after they accepted him despite his old injury to his arm (pins holding his humerus together). While in Basic training, his arm gave way while he was doing punishment pushups for being late for formation.
The Army sent him to Walter Reed to fix his arm, then sent him home to recuperate with full pay and benefits for 8 months. Toward the end of that time, they started asking him to report to the hospital. He "called in sick" and, predictably, got in trouble. When he DID get there, he made things worse by being disrespectful. He was confined to the post for a month and lost pay.
When the time came to return for the rest of Basic, he didn't go. He sat at home and collected full pay for about 24 months until the Army figured out that he was neither at Reed nor Benning and stopped paying him.
He was just arrested on a desertion warrant after a traffic stop and has been sent to Ft. Knox.
His friends are pettioning their Congressmen to "expose the Army's despicable recruiting practices" for taking him despite the arm injury.
My question: Are these friends going to make things worse?


