Virginia | Social Security Law
Legal Question
social sercurity benefits
i am widowed and can not get ss till i retire. my daughter is incarcerated and i have temp custody of my 4 yr old grandson. can i get ss for him since i take care of him.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jerry Lutkenhaus |
Re: social sercurity benefits Dear Widow:
Social Security is not available for your grandchild.
Generally, the biological parents of the child must be deceased or disabled, or the grandchild must be legally adopted by the grandparent.
In addition, the grandchild must have begun living with the grandparent before age 18 and received at least one half of his or her support from the grandparent for the year before the month the grandparent became entitled to retirement or disability insurance benefits, or died. Also, the natural parent(s) of the child must not be making regular contributions to his or her support.
Thus, in the circumstances you describe, you would not only need to be getting social security yourself but you would have adopted the child since the parents are not disabled or deceased.
Jerry Lutkenhaus
|
Top Attorneys in VA
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
James E. Bowman PLLC
Ashland, VA
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-12
Heard & Smith, LLP
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-07
Law Office of Tara Candela, R.N., Esq., PLLC
Alexandria, VA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-03
Ritchie Law Firm, PLC
Harrisonburg, VA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-10
Mary G. Commander, Attorney At Law
Norfolk, VA
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-09-07
Frank Haskell, III
Upper Marlboro, MD
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-01-21
Dunlap & Grubb, P.C.
Winchester, VA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
The Law Office of Dwayne B. Strothers
Suffolk, VA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


