Washington  |  Bankruptcy

Legal Question

Asked on: 12/30/10, 3:20 pm

My mother and father filed chapter 13 bankruptcy. The house mortgage and outstanding car loan are being managed by trustees to the tune of about $1250/mo. Dad passed away in September. Mom has never worked, is 62 and getting widows benefits in the amt of $1200/mo. Mom does not want to walk away from the home because she feels if she can stay in it she can sell it and get some equity off of it before moving on; plus she can rent an attatched building for some income. The bankruptcy court is set to do something on January 11th and have sent a letter stating they want to increase the monthly trustee amt, want to know why mom and dad didn't modify the loan [they tried and the bank refused]. Is there any relief through bankruptcy for a widow whose husband died during the bankruptcy [ie. payments according to income, etc]. Does she need to refile independently? She had a lawyer, but he dropped her like hot potato when dad died and now she is alone w/o income to hire someone new.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

212 Answers given in the last few hours.

7519 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search