Legal Question in Business Law in Washington

I want to sell a coupon for a fixed amount of money that I will buy back at a point in the future for a price based on how much profit a product I sell makes.

For example, I want to sell 1000 coupons for $100, which I will buy back for 50% of the profit I make selling shoes for the next 12 months.

So assuming I sell 50,000 shoes and make $10 profit off each pair, I will buy back the coupon for 50,000 x $10 x 50% / 1000 coupons = $250.

Is it legal for me to sell such a coupon?

Asked on 7/26/13, 12:02 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Matthew Johnson Johnson Legal Group, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes. But beyond the low likelihood someone would purchase such a risky investment, you would need to be careful with the contract that goes along with it.

Read more
7/26/13, 2:47 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Washington

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now