Washington  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/23/07, 11:37 am

Legal Question


ALL MY INCOME TAX REFUND TAKEN-Will Lose My Home-PLEASE HELP

I am a single mother who has been laid off from my full time job for several months now. I have been searching for a full time job, with not much luck. I have been able to work a few hours a week at a seasonal place in my hometown, but that is about all I can seem to get right now. I filed my income tax a few weeks ago and with that money I planned on paying my mortgage and my electrical and heating bills, which will be turned off soon if I cannot pay. I had just found out today that Edfund, a student loan company, had stopped my refund check before it was even put into my bank account, and took the whole refund in order to pay off my back debt to them. I know they cannot legally, take my refund with out my consent and/or with out it being deposited into my bank account first. I had called my bank and they said there is no indication of my refund even being deposited into my bank account. I have a 15 year old, whom I solely support, our phone has already been shut off, and without that money our heat and electricity will be turned off by next week and worst of all we will not be able to pay our mortgage which will leave us both homeless. What do I do?blorene@comcast.net


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search