Washington  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
6/16/08, 12:00 pm

Legal Question


Intellectual property

I have had an idea for a website for months, that I thought was very original, but I recently found another website that has a feature that is very similar. Some of the ideas are almost identical, but not everything. My site is going to be a year long contest, and there's only is a 3 month feature. My site will allow users to dictate who's going to be in the final round of 64, theirs is picked by employees, then winners by the users, just like theirs, and identical to what NCAA basketball tournament uses. There's numerous differences, but I'm curious if that falls under any copyright laws. The colors of the site, logo and domain name are totally different though. And the process of picking a winner is totally different. Can someone give me some idea if this is considered copyright infringement. Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search