Legal Question in Civil Litigation in India

We are 2 sisters, myself being the younger. After completing studies I wanted to work abroad like everyone else however my elder sister who at that time was working abroad told me to look after and live with our bed ridden father as there was no else willing to live with him. My elder sister promised verbally that whatever she earns 50% belongs to me, she also over the years gave me 10 lakhs as gift into my bank account. Now after 20 years she has turned hostile saying that I should return that money back and now she wants to return back to India to take care of our father and I need not stay here if I dont live as per her terms and conditions. My question is am I liable to return the money as promises were made only orally for which I have no proof. My father is also on the elder sisters side. What can I do please advice.

Asked on 4/04/19, 2:07 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sanjay. K. Dixit, Advocate. Sanjay K Dixit, Advocate @ Karnataka Bar Council Enrolement No: "KAR/898/2007"

Dear Sir/Ma'am, Unless that you have written agreement upon the same, as not obligatory.

Read more
Answered on 4/10/19, 6:51 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in India