Legal Question in Real Estate Law in India

We have an office in Mumbai which is in pagdi system building. The building is under the name of a company called M/S Deora Bros which was initial proprietorship but on 16 March 2000 its proprietor entered into a partnership with me as a partner. In May of 2001, the other partner in the partnership had retired from the firm formally leaving the company M/S Deora brothers to me, since he left the partnership firm, I became the sole proprietor of M/s Deora's brothers and hence got complete possession of the office. The Leasie of the building filed a case of unlawful transfer of property against me and my ex-partner as according to him my ex-partner sublet the property to him without informing the Leasie. But we did not partake in any transfer. The property received rent receipts in the name of M/s Deora brothers (the company) and is still receives electricity bills in the same name. Since I became the sole proprietor of the company, the property came under me. Also, the plaintiff filed a lawsuit more than 14 years after I got the possession of the office and it's been in my continuous occupation since. I wanted to know your opinion if there's a legit case here or on what grounds should i make my case.

Asked on 9/08/22, 7:50 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

the property was let out to a partnership firm but it became proprietorship firm. This cannot happen unless the partnership is dissolved. You ought to have followed the legal process under Indian Partnership Act.

Read more
Answered on 9/14/22, 7:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in India