Legal Question in DUI Law in Alabama

Alabama-Tobacco Use

In the state of Alabama, you must be 19 years old to smoke cigarettes. If you are pulled over for smoking and are not 19 years of age, what do the police have a right to do?

Asked on 1/27/04, 4:38 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Kreitlein Robert Kreitlein, Attorney at Law

Re: Alabama-Tobacco Use

According to Alabama state statute (Sections 28-11-13 & 14), it is unlawful for a minor to possess or use tobacco products. The penalty for violating this statute is the issuance of a citation-similar to a traffic ticket-but not criminal in nature. The fine can be anywhere from $10-50 and no court costs or other fees can be tacked on. The violation is not considered "criminal" and should not appear on one's permanent record as a criminal conviction.

Read more
Answered on 1/27/04, 4:52 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in Alabama