Legal Question in Constitutional Law in Alaska

We had a repair done to chimney on the outside of our house. The contractor came by and gave me a bid for the project for about $1,500. I paid 50% for him to start the project in April of this year. He sent me an invoice for the second half of the payment in July, but the job was not complete. I told him I would pay the remainder when the job was complete. He completed the job arount the 15th of August and I sent in the second half of the payment. Then in late October I get a bill from the contractor out of the blue for $4,200. With a bill there is a letter dated July 1, 2011 that outlines additional work done to the chimney that details the additional labor and parts that were not part of the $1,500 bid. We never had any discussion of additional work outside of the $1,500 bid and I did not get a letter from them in July. Do I have to pay the additional $4,200 if I did not authorize the work?

Asked on 11/01/11, 6:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Terrence Thorgaard Thorgaard Law Firm

In general, no. Did he give you any indication as to why he figures he is owed for more than you agreed to pay?

Was the "bid" in writing?

Read more
Answered on 11/01/11, 8:13 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Constitutional Law questions and answers in Alaska