Legal Question in Immigration Law in Arizona

(I am a U.S. Citizen) So About a month ago I got caught by border patrol smuggling illegals who had crossed the border. They were on this side of the border and I picked them up and was gonna drop them off at phx Arizona where I would get paid to do so. However I got caught by border patrol. They read me my Miranda rights (I exercised my right to remain silent) and they handcuffed me and put me in the back of the squad car and was then taken with my truck and the illegals to the U.S. customs facility in Bisbee. The officers got out of the car and went into the inside of a room in the facility for about 20 min while I sat in the car scared out of my life over what I had done. The officers came back to the car and asked me for permission to go through my phone I said no. They then gave me my phone and drove off away from the facility and told me that they couldn’t process me because the facility had a case of coronavirus and I guess since I hadn’t been arrested before I wasn’t considered a “threat”and dropped me off at a gas station and told me to find a ride back home. They still have the truck which my dad is now trying to fight to get back since the truck was under my dads name. I wasn’t finger printed, I didn’t have a picture taken off me (mugshot) and didn’t stay in the facility but 20 min and didn’t set one foot out of the vechile. They did take my license which I imagine they probably ran it but they gave that back too. I’ve been free now for like 3-4 weeks but I’m wondering. When this virus blows over will they, and can they come looking for me and pick me up? And can my dad get the truck back and is it likely he’ll get the truck back? Thanks

Asked on 4/19/20, 10:02 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Marlene Hemmings Marlene Hemmings, Attorney at Law

You need to seek guidance from a criminal law attorney. This is a federal criminal issue, not an immigration issue, since you are a U.S citizen.

Read more
Answered on 4/20/20, 7:32 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in Arizona