Legal Question in Banking Law in Arkansas

Bank of America is suing my husband for a little over $500.00 in checks that were written by his ex-wife ( who was not on the account & they were divorced at the time) She wrote three checks all on 11/19/06. My husband filled an affidavit of forgery and left it with the lady at Bank of America. He also went to a "hum-ho" police station in Greenbrier, AR to file a report ( the bank told him he had to file in the city where his ex resided, even though checks were written in Conway, AR--about a 20 min. distance) The police station told him ( even though they were divorced & she was never on the account) that it was a 'spousal problem' and they didn't do anything!!! My husband assumed everything was taken care of considering he took the affidavit to the bank. Well, here we are 5 years later, and Bank of America calls to sue us!! I'm not sure if we can even try to do anything again because of statute of limitations..all because a rinky-dink police station did not do anything or even know what they are talking about!! What can we do? She has literally made our lives a living you know what & we do not want to pay for yet another debt she created. Please help me with some advice!! Thankyou!!

Asked on 3/28/11, 10:42 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Chad Oldham Oldham Law Firm, PLLC

You will proably need to hire an attorney to file an answer to the suit. You should also talk to the chief prosecutor for your district who is in Conway.

Read more
Answered on 4/07/11, 6:56 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Banking Law questions and answers in Arkansas