Legal Question in Legal Ethics in Arkansas

Legal Fees-Responsible Party

If I wrote a check to a lawyer for the retainer fee to represent my brother in a divorce case, can I be held responsible for the final bill if it is more than the retainer fee or would my brother be the only one that would be held responsible?

Asked on 2/13/02, 8:23 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles Aspinwall Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC

Re: Legal Fees-Responsible Party

Unless you agreed to be responsible for fees beyond the initial retainer, or somehow implied that you would be,you have no further obligation.

Read more
Answered on 2/13/02, 11:04 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility questions and answers in Arkansas