Legal Question in Personal Injury in Arkansas

Broken arm due to pharmacy's negligence

My elderly aunt was shopping in a local pharmacy. She stepped in a box of merchandise that had been left sitting in the floor while stocking the shelves. This caused her to fall and break her arm, requiring surgery and a recovery of almost two months. She has been offered a settlement of $8200.00 for her injury, but it will eliminate any further claims. She is likely to suffer arthritis and residual pain for the rest of her life. I feel that she should try to settle for at least $50,000. She requested that the insurance company reimburse medicare, so that they won't have any claim to her settlement later. Is this the right approach? She really doesn't want to involve a lawyer, but we want to protect her, and get her compensation for the pain and disruption in her life. She lives alone, and this has been a terrible burden for her.

Asked on 11/07/06, 7:41 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Orintas Orintas Law Firm

Re: Broken arm due to pharmacy's negligence

... a lawyer would be advisable

Read more
Answered on 11/08/06, 5:46 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Arkansas