Legal Question in Business Law in California

I created an account on CareerBuilder, uploaded my resume looking for a job. The next day I get a message from a person named "Patrick Harris" from the "firm TMX GROUP". I get an interview they say I am hired and I do 3 days of training and on the 4th day they email me a check to deposit and buy the equipment needed for the company. I'm doing as they ask for since all the paper work they have sent me looks professional (Hiring W4 form, Tax matters and employment relationship form, Agreement letter, and employment offer letter). Since it looks professional i fell into the trap of depositing the check and when i had to funds they asked me to Zelle their vendor for their programs needed and equipment, I sent $500. They're asking me now to get $2000 worth of apple cards to send the vendor but I did not do it as i know it is a scam now. They're impersonating the group TMX GROUP on Zoom as well where they contact me at, when asking for TMX support number or their "vendor", which they said is "NUUK Vendor", I know i messed up for depositing the check and sending the money to a person named "Ashley Ross Silly" i have the email address to which it was sent to. I just wanted to see if there is anything i can do about this as i am currently struggling with life itself already i had high hopes this job would of turned my life around.

Asked on 10/05/23, 12:47 pm

2 Answers from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

Unfortunately there's no way to get your money back.

Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 10/06/23, 10:04 am

I’m afraid I agree the money is gone but you really should report this to the local police and the FBI.

Read more
Answered on 10/06/23, 10:25 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in California