Legal Question in Business Law in California

I was offered an all expense paid trip to Los Angeles contract job.

The company paid for lodging and food.

I'm not sure if I was an employee or a contractor.

I asked many times for a notice so I would know when the contract/job was going to end because I had moved out of my home for the job.

They gave me 2 days notice. They also have told me that they would withhold my 3 bonuses they told me I would receive because I was upset about the short notice.

My questions are:

Are bonuses binding?

Did they have a requirement to give me notice? They told me they would and they new I'd have no where to go/live once the contract was over.

I'm not sure if it matters but I was obligated to pay the employer half of my wages back for an old debt that I had so he got half of the monies I made limiting the amount of monies I could save for transitioning to a new home.

Asked on 4/02/16, 4:43 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jerold M. Gorski Law Offices of Jerold M. Gorski

Contact the California Labor Commissioner's Office:

Read more
Answered on 4/05/16, 6:07 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in California