Legal Question in Consumer Law in California

Asked a solar company to check our leaking roof (possibly leaking from their panel install a couple years ago). They never responded. They showed up today at my house, unannounced and entered the house with my two sons, minors (15 and 14), knowing no parent was home (they asked and came in anyway). Three men from the solar company in my house, unannounced with minors present. Had my younger son show them where the attic was so they could check for the leak. Separate conversation will be had with my sons for letting someone in the house. Bigger issue is the solar company showing up unannounced and entering knowing only minors were present. What should I say to the solar company about this?

Asked on 12/21/15, 12:20 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

You can say anything you want to them. No crime was committed. The only theoretical civil wrong might be trespassing, if the minors are deemed incapable of giving consent to entry, but even then, what are your civil damages? None.

Read more
Answered on 12/22/15, 1:26 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in California