Legal Question in Consumer Law in California

Can storage units lock you out if you don't pay the monthly storage fee after 10 days? My storage place locks my account after the 10th of the month if I don't pay the monthly storage fee by then. They then charge me a late fee and if not paid 5 days after assess another CA lien prep fee. I always pay my monthly storage fee and end of the month because I simply don't have the money by the 10th. So, I was just wondering if it's legal for them to lock me out after 10 days. I assume its legal but wanted to check.

Asked on 7/24/18, 12:39 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Eric Ridley Law Offices of Eric Ridley

Yes, it's entirely legal for them to lock you out; they are protecting themselves against default by asserting their lien over the contents of your unit.

Read more
Answered on 7/24/18, 12:48 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in California