Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

check cashing fraud

Is a corporation financially responsable for a corporate check that had stolen, signed by an unauthorized signer, and cashed at at check cashing facility, not a bank. The bank would not authorize payment to the check cashing facility, the check cashing facility is attempting to collect from the corporation through a colection agency. The collection agency insists the cororation is financially liable.

Asked on 12/05/08, 1:16 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Phillip Lemmons, Esq. Phillip Lemmons APC, Attorneys at Law

Re: check cashing fraud

Corporation sounds like a victim to me. Did you call the police and report the stolen checkbook?

Give the collection agency a copy of the police report.

Read more
Answered on 12/06/08, 12:08 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California