Legal Question in Criminal Law in California

Pulled over for expired tags. I have however already paid the registration fee which I told the cop and I just need to go show the DMV proof of insurance which I also already have. Instead of just writing me a ticket the cop gave me the third degree. I told him I didn't have the new registration paperwork yet and that if I did it would be in my glove box. He then said he was going to search my vehicle for the paperwork. I didn't agree to any search, he did it saying he was only looking for the paperwork which he obviously didn't do. He looked through everything in my car including my wallet which was on the car seat and inside a pocket of the wallet was a small amount of drugs which he pulled out. He then wrote me a ticket for possession and paraphernalia as well as for expired registration. I've never been in trouble before and am super stressed now about being able to find a decent job, paying fees, going to jail and being on probation. I haven't ever done any of those things and really don't want to now. Does this constitute an illegal search and seizure and can it be thrown out?

Asked on 7/19/19, 3:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Barney Gibbs Law Office of Barney B. Gibbs


Read more
Answered on 7/19/19, 9:46 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in California