Legal Question in Discrimination Law in California

I rented a apartment gave landlord 800 dollars she put it toward deposit 3 days later she gave me a 3 day and 30 day notice to pay the rent at that point she asked if my friend was in my apartment I said yes she hates him because he is openly gay she said she was told he was visiting me she said "I don't rent to faggots".5 days later I was served an unlawful detainer,she did not even give me the 30 days.Ifeel I was evicted really because of being gay . does this qualify as sexual descrimanation and what can I do?

Asked on 1/10/14, 2:31 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kristine Karila Law Office of Kristine S. Karila

Contact the Calif. Department of Fair Employment and Housing. It is illegal to discriminate against someone who belongs to a protected class (age, race, gender, religion, sexual orientation.)

Read more
Answered on 1/10/14, 2:55 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in California